King & Snohomish County Offices
If you are under the age of 21, it is a crime in Washington to drive or to be in physical control of a vehicle with an alcohol concentration of 0.02 or higher. Since a 12-ounce beer will put your average adult at a 0.02 alcohol concentration, this is almost a zero tolerance for under-21 drivers.
I am Schöen Parnell, a DUI defense lawyer with more than 13 years of experience. If you are facing charges for under age DUI, minor in possession, or a related crime, contact my office to learn about your legal options after being charged with a DUI
Penalties for Under 21 DUI in Washington Include:
- Up to 90 days in jail
- Up to a $1,000 fine
- License suspension
A license suspension will begin 60 days from the date of arrest unless the driver requests a hearing with the Department of Licensing. This request must be postmarked no later than 20 days after the date of arrest. If the license is suspended, there is an SR-22 requirement for three years — proof filed with DOL that the driver is insured. The insurance company files this SR-22 form on behalf of the insured. When it comes time to renew the insurance policy, the insurance company typically raises the rate or drops the insured.
Ready To Talk?
Contact me so we can discuss your case and I can let you know what your options are. The initial consultation is on me, no strings attached.